University Gallery/Harn

This first photo from one of the exhibits in the University Gallery as of last week. I love being able to appreciate sculpture after a semester of throwing and making more functional ware, although I can’t even wrap my mind around one would make that. I’m personally also very attracted to the abstract, chain-like wrapping at the foot of the structures, which is something similar to what I explored last year in my 3D concepts class. This second photo is one I took last year, also in my 3D concepts class, when we visited the harn to explore vases and lidded vessels while preparing to make our final project, teapots. I really enjoyed this display and wanted to share it with you all! I am unsure if it is still there, but the variety of colors and shapes alone is just pleasing to the eye, especially against the warm wood background and framing, but looking closely at each and every vase and piece was so fun, and taught us a lot about the different varieties and shapes of vessels we could be making.

Leave a Reply

